Hsinchu, Taiwan, R.O.C., December 2-4, 1998

ISSS'98 is the 11th in a very successful series of symposia oriented towards design automation professionals. At the symposium the latest results in emerging system design and synthesis technologies are presented. Original technical papers on, but not limited to, the following topics are invited:
  1. System-level synthesis: Partitioning, transformations, design reuse, quality measure, estimation, specification languages and models, intermediate forms, embedded processor synthesis.
  2. Hardware-software co-design: Hardware/software tradeoffs, interfaces and communications, co-simulation, co-emulation and co-synthesis, embedded system architectures, system exploration, system testbench development, design automation for rapid system prototyping.
  3. Programmable (multi-)processor-based design and synthesis: ASIPs, code generation, instruction-set specification, design and simulation, high-level code transformations.
  4. System design experience and methodologies: Application-specific parallel/distributed systems, industrial telecom, robotics, vision, video, audio and speech processing systems, formalized design methodology, process management.
  5. Embedded and real-time system software: Software development, constraint specification, process scheduling, real-time operating systems, distributed systems.
  6. High-level and architectural synthesis: Datapath, control, memory, and interface synthesis from behavioral specifications, clocking/timing optimization, physical design models for high-level tradeoffs, hardware accelerators/coprocessors.
  7. Synthesis for low power, testability and verifiability in the above areas.
Submitted papers should be 6 pages or less in IEEE 2-column style (10pt), as close as possible to the final content. They should clearly specify contributions and results, and include a separate cover page with the following: paper title, complete name, address, telephone, fax, and email address of each author, identification of the corresponding author, and the category (numbered 1-7 above) most closely matching the paper's content. Papers exceeding the page limit will be returned to the authors. Submissions simultaneously sent to other forums will not be considered. The symposium proceedings will be published by the IEEE Computer Society Press. Everyone is strongly encouraged to submit the paper and cover page electronically as explained on our web page ( under the "Call for papers/submission instructions"). If you do not have access to a web browser you may also send the uuencoded gzipped (standard) Postscript paper and separate cover page (in ASCII format) to the email address If electronic submission is infeasible, 8 copies of the paper should be send along with the cover page to the Program Chair at the following address:
    Allen C.-H. Wu, ISSS'98,
    Computer Science Department, Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu, Taiwan 30043
    Tel: 886-3-5715131 ext 3517 ; Fax: 886-3-5723694
Author's schedule:
    Submission deadline: April 5, 1998
    Notification of Acceptance: June 5, 1998
    Camera-ready copies: July 5, 1998
Steering Committee:

General Chair: Francky Catthoor, IMEC
Honorary Chair: C. L. Liu, Tsing Hua U.
Program Chair: Allen C.-H. Wu, Tsing Hua U.
Publications Chair: L.-G. Chen. Taiwan U.
Panels Chair: Nikil Dutt, U. C. Irvine
Publicity Co-Chairs: J.-M. Shyu, ITRI
I.-J. Huang, Sun Yat-Sen U.
Finance Chair: W.-Z. Shen, Chiao Tung U.
Local Arrangement Chair: Y.-L. Lin, Tsing Hua U.
Past Chair: Frank Vahid, U. C. Riverside

Technical Program Committee:

Marleen Ade, K.U. Leuven
Gaetano Borriello, Univ. Washington
Raul Camposano, Synopsys
Nikil Dutt, U.C. Irvine
Rolf Ernst, Tech. Univ. Braunschweig
Masahiro Fujita, Fujitsu
Daniel Gajski, U.C. Irvine
Cathy Gebotys, Univ. Waterloo
Yu-Chin Hsu, Avant!
Ahmed A. Jerraya, TIMA
Kayhan Kucukcakar, Escalade Corp.
Fadi Kurdahi, U.C. Irvine
Steve Y.L. Lin, Tsing Hua Univ.
Paul Lippens, Philips
Jan Madsen, Tech. Univ. Denmark
Lev Markov, Mentor Graphics
Peter Marwedel, Univ. Dortmund
Vijay Nagasamy, VSIS Inc.
Yukihiro Nakamura, Kyoto Univ.
Sanjiv Narayan, Cadence Design Systems
Kevin O'brien, Leda
B. Ramakrishna(Bob)Rau, HP Labs.
Wolfgang Rosenstiel, Univ. Tubingen, FZI
Edwin Sha, Univ. Notre Dame
Leon Stok, IBM
Donald Thomas, CMU
Diederik Verkest, IMEC
Kazutoshi Wakabayashi, NEC
Robert Walker, Kent State Univ.
Wayne Wolf, Princeton
Hiroto Yasuura, Kyushu Univ.

Check the WWW at for the latest ISSS'98 related information.
Sponsored by IEEE CS Technical Commitee on Design Automation and
In Cooperation with Ministry of Education, R.O.C. and
National Science Council, R.O.C.